Thoughts on the Current State of The World — June 2020

Personal musings on the Covid-19 lock-down, privilege, systemic racism and the work towards a better future.

Annie 🦄⚡️
4 min readJun 7, 2020

I forget what week of lock-down it is now.

Week 11? 12?

It almost doesn’t matter does it? The weeks and days have all blended into one long Groundhog Day type story that has yet to end. I wonder how future historians will reflect back on these troubled times. 2020 has thus far proven to be a (excuse my language) shitshow for many of us.

I live in Toronto. And although easing-up a little, Ontario’s state of emergency declaration has been extended till end of June. But word on the street says it may be September or after. Unlike a number of friends & contacts I know, I’m one of the lucky ones to be able to work remote and keep my job. I’m really grateful for this. And I’m grateful to be privileged enough to have access to a space where I’m safe. I can read, work, think and spend time outdoors. I have food, clean water… and I have toilet paper.

My heart has been really heavy this week thinking about all the riots, violence and happenings in the US. It’s been really difficult to focus on other things. I’ve seen the videos, heard the voices, educated myself on why this is…

--

--

Annie 🦄⚡️

Designer // Developer | ENFP-T ♐ | 🌏 Traveller | Optimist 🥛 | Suffers from FOMO & analysis-paralysis